Bitte wählen/select: Englisch


India is a Land of Unity and Diversity, it is often said, is not a country but a continent. From north to south and east to west, the people are different, the languages are different, the country is different.


India lies between latitudes 8o4′ and 37o6′ and longitudes 68o7′ and 97o25′ east. From north to south the country measures 3,214 km and east to west 2,933 km. India’s land frontiers are approximately 15,200 km long and its coastline is about 6,100 km. India’s northern boundary is demarcated by the Himalayas and other mountain ranges, except in Nepal region, which is marked by low hills.

India’s north-east neighbours are China, Nepal and Bhutan, Pakistan and Afghanistan in the north-west. To the east of India lies Myanmar, while surrounded by India’s eastern and north-eastern states is Bangladesh.

Northern India is peninsular India, with the Arabian Sea to its west and the Bay of Bengal to the east. Just south of peninsular India, Sri Lanka and the Indian Ocean.

The capital of India is New Delhi.


India is so vast that the climatic conditions in the far north have little relation to those of the extreme south. The Climate in India varies from tropical monsoon in south to temperate in north fall.


India is rich in languages. There are a quite a number of languages spoken in India. Hindi is the official language and  English is an associate official language. India has 22 officially recognised languages. But around 33 different languages and 2000 dialects have been identified in India.

Religion and Culture

India, the land of spirituality and philosophy considers religion as an integral part of its entire tradition. The worship of various religions and its rituals play a significant role in every aspect of human life in the country.

India has a large number of festivals due to its cultural, religions and regional variations. Festivals happen with a specialty of its own almost every day.


All foreigners except residents of Nepal and Bhutan are required to obtain visa from Indian Embassy/High Commission/Consulate Office in their country for entering into India. Visa is not granted on arrival at any airport in India.


The Indian rupee (INR) is the official currency of India. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. The most commonly used symbols for the rupee are Rs.

Through recognised money changing agents or Banks or at the hotel counters. Money changing facilities are also available at the international airports. Please keep certificate of changing money from foreign currency to Indian Rupees safely. You are allowed to rechange your money back in your currency on final departure at the Bank Counter at the airports.

Rss Feed Tweeter button Facebook button /* old:*/ Linkedin button